#BookReview – One Summer Weekend by Juliet Archer @julietarcher @rararesources @RubyFiction

#BookReview – One Summer Weekend by Juliet Archer @julietarcher @rararesources @RubyFiction

23rd June 2018 3 By zooloobookblog

#BookReview - One Summer Weekend by Juliet Archer @julietarcher @rararesources @RubyFiction

#BookReview – One Summer Weekend by Juliet Archer @julietarcher @rararesources @RubyFictionOne Summer Weekend by Juliet Archer
Published by Ruby Fiction on 19th June 2018
Genres: Romance, Fiction
Pages: 200
Add to Goodreads
three-half-stars

For fans of Kathryn Freeman, Jenny Colgan and Sue Moorcroft. A heart-warming fun read, perfect for the holidays from this award-winning author!One summer weekend can change everything … Alicia Marlowe’s life as an executive coach is well under control – until she meets her new client, Jack Smith. Jack’s reputation precedes him and Alicia knows immediately that he spells trouble. Not least because he reminds her of someone else – a man who broke her heart and made her resolve never to lower her guard again.
Taking Jack on as a client is a risk, but one that Alicia decides to take for the good of her career. As long as she keeps him in his place, she might just make it through unscathed. But Jack has other ideas – including a ‘business’ trip to the Lake District. One summer weekend with him is all it takes to put Alicia’s carefully organised world in a spin …

*Thank you so much to Rachel at Rachel Random Resources and the author Juliet Archer for a copy of this book for my honest and unbiased opinion*

Check out the giveaway at the bottom of the post – check it out!

 

In this novella, we meet Alicia (again what a fab name), an executive coach, who has been tasked with a new client. In walks, Jack Smith, who is arrogant and if you listen to the tabloids is a player with the ladies. Alicia has already written him off and is strictly business with him, Jack likes to flirt and joke around – Alicia does not find this acceptable.

In order for Alicia to help Jack, for some reason, she has to go away for the weekend with him on a business trip. The client, are also good friends of Jack, and Alicia has to pretend for the weekend in the Lake District that she is his girlfriend, what could go wrong?

Being a novella, you know things are going to progress and quick. We learn quite a bit of their backstory, but there were still some gaps that I would have loved to been answered. Due to Alicia ‘researching’ Jack, she had made a judgement on him before she had met him and wrote him off as a womaniser. I mean I get we would all do that, but she shut him down completely at the start, then when they got to the weekend away after a couple of wines she kissed him. I thought it was progressed probably a bit too quickly in terms of their feelings for each other with the little time they spent together. The judgement she had made on Jack was based on “him”, the mysterious man from her past, who left her completely heartbroken and turned her into the Ice Queen, cue the drama for later on in the book. I did love Jack, albeit the arrogance, but he had a huge heart and knew his flaws.

I did LOVE the walk they went on in the Lake District, as the descriptions of the views sounded breathtaking. For someone who has never been there, but always longed to, I felt like I could picture it perfectly.

This is a perfect read, sitting in the garden in the early evening with a nice glass of wine (well we have to keep up with Alicia and Jack!)

 

If you enjoyed my review or any of my other reviews, please share it on Twitter, Facebook, anywhere for other people to enjoy. Thanks for stopping by! 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

  

Giveaway – Win PB Copies of The Importance of Being Emma and Persuade Me (Open Internationally)

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will be passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for the fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

 

About Juliet Archer

Juliet Archer writes award-winning romantic comedy for Choc Lit and Ruby Fiction. She has
been known to spend many happy hours matching irresistible heroes with their equally irresistible
chocolate counterparts – watch out for the dark nutty ones!
Her debut novel, The Importance of Being Emma, won the Big Red Read Book of the Year 2011
Fiction Award and was shortlisted for the 2009 Melissa Nathan Award for Comedy Romance.
Her second novel, Persuade Me, was shortlisted for the 2011 Festival of Romance Best Romantic
Read Award.
Juliet’s third book, One Summer Weekend, is out in June 2018. You can also read her short
stories: Incense & Insensibility in the Choc Lit Love Match anthology, and Love Rules in Choc
Lit’s Kisses & Cupcakes anthology.
Juliet was born and bred in North-East England and now lives in Hertfordshire. She gives talks all
over the UK and in the USA about the classic authors who inspire her work. She is a member of
the Romantic Novelists’ Association, the Society of Authors and the Jane Austen Society. Her
non-writing career has spanned IT, acquisitions analysis, copy editing, marketing and project
management, providing plenty of first-hand research for her novels.

 

Reading this book contributed to these challenges: