#BookReview – The Last Witness by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @bookouture @nholten40 @zooloo2008 #LastWitness #NetGalley

#BookReview – The Last Witness by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @bookouture @nholten40 @zooloo2008 #LastWitness #NetGalley

#BookReview - The Last Witness by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @bookouture @nholten40 @zooloo2008 #LastWitness #NetGalley

#BookReview – The Last Witness by Chris Merritt @DrCJMerritt @bookouture @nholten40 @zooloo2008 #LastWitness #NetGalley http://cahomeloanpro.com/mortgage-rates/ Last Witness by Chris Merritt
buy Prozac malaysia Series: Detective Zac Boateng #1
source link Published by Bookouture on 24th July 2018
Genres: Crime, Thriller
Pages: 347
Buy on Amazon Uk
Add to Goodreads
four-half-stars

What if you made one mistake and it came back to kill you? 
 
Detective Zac Boateng’s old friend, Troy McEwen, is found dead in his home. The official verdict is suicide. But Boateng believes it was murder. And he thinks he might be next on the killer’s list.
 
If Troy didn’t take his own life, then who did? As he investigates, Boateng discovers a link to an incident from decades earlier. Mistakes were made that day. Lives were lost and secrets kept. Until now…
 
As more people who were there on that fateful day are found dead, Boateng knows that the killer is closing in on him…
 
A tense crime thriller for fans of Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Mark Dawson. Last Witness is a gripping, fast-paced thriller that will have you hooked from the first page.

*Thank you so much to Noelle at Bookouture and the author Chris Merritt for a copy of this book*

Well, it is official, I think I have found a new detective that I might just love a little bit. Detective Zac Boateng is up there with Bosch, Cross to name some of the greats. One of thing that I did adore about him is that he is not your typical type of detective, in the fact he is happily married and has a family, albeit suffering a loss of his daughter, but he has a wife who supports and loves him dearly. I love this! (Not the loss, but the commitment to each other) He is, however, your typically flawed detective, with a lot of baggage he needs to let go off. So many secrets he is keeping, mainly the one that could get him killed…. what happened in 1998? Why are people dying because of it? Want to know…. well you will need to do something very special…you ready…. read the book 😊

Zac is restless, his friend has committed suicide, but Zac can’t accept it, especially as hours before Troy text him asking him to pop over to discuss “back then”. Seriously stop teasing me already especially with so many people in potential danger! What happened? In Zac’s mind it is murder and as he discovers more information to another case he is working on, it links back to Troy’s death. Someone is watching Zac, and watching him keep secrets…but who? Someone with an invested interest in the case that is for sure.

I love Jones too, so naïve, still young in the teams’ eyes and apparently being a girl doesn’t help! She cares and worries about Boateng, whilst having to deal with some weirdo who happens to be working in their office, I mean seriously what do you want? Always watching…. because that wouldn’t freak anyone out would it!

I sound like a broken record lately, I keep picking up books, getting enticed by them, throwing everything at them to discover they are part of a series! Doh! And then I tell you I am going to go back and read the others in the series…. guess what! I am telling you the same here. I wish I had read the first book in order, (it does my OCD no good!) because I would have learned Zac’s past encounters and friends, leading us to the present day. So, bear with me whilst I have more reading to do and more reviews to share with you!

Chris Merritt can add me to his list of fans, as I loved this book, the plot, characters and most of all his writing. I found it easy to follow and to read and I couldn’t put the book down, even when I was tired and wanted sleep, so sign of a terrific book!

So, when can I read the next one??

 

If you enjoyed my review or any of my other reviews, please share it on Twitter, Facebook,  anywhere for other people to enjoy or if you fancy a chat stick a comment below. Thanks for stopping by! 

 

 

About Chris Merritt

Chris Merritt is a Clinical Psychologist and former diplomat based in London, who has been writing on psychology since 2010. In 2014 he decided to combine his Bring Her Back, his debut novel. He currently works on a mental health research project at King’s College London, and part-time as a psychologist in the NHS. When not working or writing, he loves climbing and basketball, and dreams of one day being able to work from home enough to own a whippet.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *